Monday, 23 June 2014

New Zealand - Heaven on earth

New Zealand is an island nation in the south-western Pacific Ocean containing two principle landmasses (the North Island and the South Island), and various smaller islands, most prominently Stewart Island/Rakiura and the Chatham Islands. New Zealand is eminent for its geographic location, situated about 2000 km (1250 miles) southeast of Australia over the Tasman Sea, and its closest neighbors to the north are New Caledonia, Fiji and Tonga. New Zealand created an unique fauna overwhelmed by flying creatures, various which got terminated after the landing of people and the vertebrates they presented.

It is known for the dazzling landscapes characterized in Peter Jackson's "Lord of the Rings", New Zealand ought to be on top when it comes to visit natural places and landscapes. Surrounded by stunning painted scenes of fjords, mountains, knolls, streams, fountains and shores, you will be in love to this place when you once visit it. Some of the splendid place in New Zealand are:

1) Milford Sound
If you are kayaking lover, this is heaven for kayaking

2) Cathedral Cove
Explore photographic beaches and cliffs

 3)Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park
Watch sunrises over Hooker Lake

 4)Queen Charlotte Sound
Sail on the tranquil waters and stop for a picnic break on one of its many sandy shores.

Heaven for whale watchers
6) Tongariro National Park
Be ready to be Lost in spectacular volcanic terrain of Tongariro National Park and emerald-coloured lakes
7)Lake Tekapo
If you happen to be on the northern edge of the Mackenzie Basin during November and December, you'll get the opportunity to see and smell the lupines on Lake Tekapo.

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

History of New Zealand

New Zealand was one of the last major landmasses settled by humans. Radiocarbon dating, evidence of deforestation andmitochondrial DNA variability within Māori populations suggest New Zealand was first settled by Eastern Polynesiansbetween 1250 and 1300,concluding a long series of voyages through the southern Pacific islands. Over the centuries that followed these settlers developed a distinct culture now known as Māori.

The population was divided into iwi(tribes) and hapū (subtribes) which would cooperate, compete and sometimes fight with each other. At some point a group of Māori migrated to the Chatham Islands (which they namedRēkohu) where they developed their distinct Morioriculture.The Moriori population was decimated between 1835 and 1862, largely because of Māori invasion and enslavement, although European diseases also contributed. In 1862 only 101 survived and the last known full-blooded Moriori died in 1933.

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

New Zealand

The early European settlers divided New Zealand into provinces, which had a degree of autonomy. Because of financial pressures and the desire to consolidate railways, education, land sales and other policies, government was centralised and the provinces were abolished in 1876. As a result, New Zealand now has no separately represented subnational entities. The provinces are remembered in regional public holidays and sporting rivalries.

Since 1876, various councils have administered local areas under legislation determined by the central government. In 1989, the government reorganised local government into the current two-tier structure of regional councils and territorial authorities. The 249 municipalities that existed in 1975 have now been consolidated into 67 territorial authorities and 11 regional councils. The regional councils' role is to regulate "the natural environment with particular emphasis on resource management",while territorial authorities are responsible for sewage, water, local roads, building consents and other local matters. Five of the territorial councils are unitary authorities and also act as regional councils. The territorial authorities consist of 13 city councils, 53 district councils, and the Chatham Islands Council. While officially the Chatham Islands Council is not a unitary authority, it undertakes many functions of a regional council.

Thursday, 14 July 2011


A rocket or rocket vehicle is a missile, spacecraft, aircraft or other vehicle which obtains thrust from a rocket engine. In all rockets, the exhaust is formed entirely from propellants carried within the rocket before use.[1] Rocket engines work by action and reaction. Rocket engines push rockets forwards simply by throwing their exhaust backwards extremely fast.

Rockets for military and recreational uses date back to at least 13th century China.[2] Significant scientific, interplanetary and industrial use did not occur until the 20th century, when rocketry was the enabling technology of the Space Age, including setting foot on the moon.

Rockets are used for fireworks, weaponry, ejection seats, launch vehicles for artificial satellites, human spaceflight and space exploration. While comparatively inefficient for low speed use, they are very lightweight and powerful, capable of generating large accelerations and of attaining extremely high speeds with reasonable efficiency.

Chemical rockets are the most common type of rocket and they typically create their exhaust by the combustion of rocket propellant. Chemical rockets store a large amount of energy in an easily released form, and can be very dangerous. However, careful design, testing, construction and use minimizes risks.